Quick Fishing Facts

The following is for information only. Refer to the current edition of the Jowa Fishing Regulations for a
summary of fishing laws.

= People age 16 and older
= Licenses typically are good for 3 years, 1 year, 7 days, or 1 day (24 hours)

=  You must ...

carry your license when fishing.

show your license and catch to any DNR officer who asks to see it.
have a license to try to catch fish, frogs, or turtles.

also pay a trout fee to fish for trout.
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= Sporting goods stores, convenience stores, county recorders, some bait shops (for a complete list of
vendors in each county, visit www.iowadnr.gov/Fishing/Fishing-Licenses-Laws/Find-a-License-
Retailer)

=  On-line: www.iowadnr.gov/Fishing/Buy-Your-License

= Public (city, county, state, federal) lakes and reservoirs
= Public access areas to rivers and streams (usually have signs)

* You must get permission from pond owner or person who rents the land to fish private ponds,
lakes, or land next to rivers and streams.

= You can use only hook and line attached to a “pole.”
» Poles = purchased poles, sticks, handles, cans, etc.
» Only 2 “poles” per person (3 “poles” if you purchase the annual permit for a third line)
» Only 2 hooks per pole and line (4 total per person)

* You cannot use chemicals, explosives, electricity, or any method other than hook and line.
(Exception: some fish can be taken by snagging, bow and arrow and/or spear. Check regulations.)

= Fish (except carp and suckers) hooked anywhere other than the mouth (snagged) must be released
immediately.

= Some areas do not allow snagging even for carp or suckers; check rules and regulations for the area
where you fish.
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= Check the current Iowa Fishing Regulations for specific limits.

= Some fish must be a certain length (length limit): e.g., largemouth and

smallmouth bass, muskellunge, northern pike, walleye (may vary by RRUUURL LR AU AL
1003ti011)- e

= Fish without length limits: bluegill, crappie, carp, catfish, bullheads


http://www.iowadnr.gov/Fishing/Fishing-Licenses-Laws/Find-a-License-Retailer
http://www.iowadnr.gov/Fishing/Fishing-Licenses-Laws/Find-a-License-Retailer
http://www.iowadnr.gov/Fishing/Buy-Your-License

= Check the current Iowa Fishing Regulations for specific limits.

= You can keep only so many of some kinds of fish each day (daily bag
limit). Limits may be different, depending on the body of water.

Note: There are bag limits on more kinds of fish on the Mississippi River.

* You can have only so many fotal (possession limit) of fish with daily bag
limits.
v" This includes the daily limit and any fish at home that have not been eaten.
v' Fish must be eaten before any more of the same kind of fish can be caught.

= Turtles — you can have no more than 100 pounds of live turtles or 50 pounds of turtle meat.

= An officer must be able to tell what kind of fish you have while you are fishing.

= If you clean your fish at a public fish cleaning station, you must leave at least one (1)
square inch of skin on all fish or fillets. One (1)

= An officer must be able to determine the length of your fish on waters where there are S?lual;e
length limits. e

You can...
= Cook and eat your catch, or

= Freeze or can your catch to eat later.

You cannot...
= Sell fish, frogs, or turtles (or their meat) caught from a lake, pond, or stream. (Holders of commercial
fishing licenses can sell fish taken legally under that license.)

= Stock fish in a public stream or lake

Be good stewards of our resources. Littering is against the law. People who are caught
littering will pay a fine. Do not leave empty bait containers, bottles, bags, cans, line, or
other garbage on any water, ice or land.
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